Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
19

How I Make Money With Substack Notes (and You Can Too)

Substack’s “Your Note Made You $” notification is the best new feature. I can finally invite you to join "The Notes Summer Challenge" with David Mcllroy
19

If you’d ask me about my growth tip number one I’d say (and you heard it all before 😆)

Be on Notes!

Use Notes to grow!

Find your tribe and build a community via Notes!

The opportunities for writers are stupid crazy.

You shouldn’t snooze on Notes. Better capitalize on it.

My Notes growth

I knew about Notes and wrote an article about it in Better Marketing, one of Medium’s Top 10 publications but didn’t capitalize on it (because I was pregnant, gave birth, you name it 😁), except re-stacking (sharing) my work or the work of others.

Then in January 2024, I started using Notes when my baby was 5 months old and I could also offer a paid membership with awesome perks for my subscribers.

Since it’s my side hustle I started with one post per day.

Now I’m posting 3-5 times per day.

  • Original posts “in the moment”, very short, sometimes longer ones I repurpose from my Medium blog.

  • Plus sharing the work of others and my tribe members.

I can show you this hockey stick effect:

In January, I had less than 3,300 subs. Now I’m about to hit 8,000 subs without any viral Notes.

I also launched the “Notes Club” in April and opened it in May 2024 so my paid members could learn to dance there, get on Notes, and capitalize on the early days of the social media platform:

I want to become a member!

It all started on my membership platform and now I’m happy that most of the conversations happen on Notes on Substack!

Make money with Substack’s Notes

Followers can be a vanity metric.

Subscribers can be a vanity metric too.

A teeny-engaged email list can make more money than a 15,000-subscriber list - depending on the topic you’re writing about.

So often writers wondered if they could earn any money via Notes.

Of course, they could see that they were getting subscribers via Notes in their inbox…

This post is for paid subscribers