Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview
6

Here's What's Possible When You Write on Medium and Get Boosted

Some writers earn $$$$$ with one story. Robin Wilding as a Boost nominator shares how she finds Boost-worthy stories.
6

Medium isn’t dead at all.

Its publication ecosystem is flourishing.

Especially new writers can earn money with their words from day one.

Medium also recently crossed 1M paying members which means there are now 60M bucks in the pot for writers.

This is great news for all those who are wondering if and how much money they could make writing on Medium in 2024.

My friend and community member

who joined Medium in 2022 shared this screenshot with the words:

You can probably imagine how this affects someone who has never been financially secure

When I asked Michelle whether she’d allow me to share this with you she said:

Yes, permission granted. Let's show people what is possible with Medium.

There are multiple more (which I showed inside this year’s Medium Kickstarter Bootcamp) from the community and friends.

shared another WOW-worthy example with me from Peter:

Photo credit: Peter Mukherjee on Medium

I mean look at those views and how many people actually read the piece.

Medium isn’t dead. It’s just changing

“Medium is dead” that’s one of the first articles I read when I joined the publishing platform back in 2020.

I had just given birth to my first baby and was on maternity.

As a manager for an international company I felt the urge to do something.

But it shouldn’t just be something.

It should be something really valuable. Something fun. Something that would leave a legacy for my firstborn. So I started sharing my #Parenting stories on the platform. I joined “Modern Parent” which used to be a great parenting publication, the editor even asked me to join her staff since my stories were distributed multiple times.

“Medium isn’t dead” she told me one day, “it’s just changing”.

Change is the only constant on Medium so “Modern Parent” closed and “chosen for further distribution” was replaced by the Boost. Medium claims it’s the biggest Boost in the history of Medium.

How a story gets Boosted on Medium

Finally…

  • Poets who are sharing short poems can get Boosted.

  • Fiction writers get Boosted.

Anyone can get Boosted when the story is unique, memorable and a page turner.

The Boost process looks like this:

Last spring my friend

who’s a professional writer…

…was approached by Ariel Meadow Stallings from Medium who’s responsible for the Boost Program. Ariel asked her to become a nommer.

Robin joined and since then has been responsible to find stories written by new writers (with a small following) that she can nominate for a Boost.

She scours New Writers Welcome, a publication for new writers for which she is an editor.

The headline is particularly important to her:

I'm looking for something that just makes me want to click on it, but not clickbait. So not something so shocking that, you know, I want to click out it, click on it. Like I want to look at an accident on the highways I'm driving by. Like you don't want to look, but then you look. Something, something that just makes you intrigued about it or, or tells me what's in the post which I think is really important, but it's a fine line between clickbait and a great headline.

But of course there’s more.

Here’s what others are saying about our LIVE session

Don’t take it from me. Here’s what others were saying about our LIVE session with

and :

This live session was part of my membership experience. Become a member to join 200+ awesome, positive, funny and inspiring writers.

This post is for paid subscribers